Local Bodies in Mangalore

Mangalore is one among  the districts in the state of Karnataka. It is said to be the chief and the most wanted port city in India. Mangalore has got a lush green surrounding with a  pleasant atmosphere and are well connected with all types of transports. Mangalore is located exactly about 350 kilometers from Bangalore. It lies in between the Western Ghats and the Arabian Sea. Mangalore holds the pride of being the administrative headquarters for the Dakshina Kannada district in the state of Karnataka.

Mangalore City Corporation

The Mangalore City Corporation is known as the municipal corporation that is very much responsible in taking care of the administration in Mangalore. It has got both executive and legislative bodies in it. The city mayor leads the legislative body and the Chief Commissioner leads the executive body. The present mayor of Mangalore City Corporation is Gulzar Banu. Amitakala is the deputy mayor taking care of the legislative bodies in Mangalore. The Mangalore City Corporation is in charge of the  infrastructural and civic assets of Mangalore.

The Municipal limit is said to start from Mukka that is on the North side of Mangalore till the Netravati river bridge that is present in the South and the western seashore in the east. The Mangalore City Corporation council has got 60 representatives who are elected through voting basis. These elected representatives are known as corporator and each of them is responsible for their wards that is also known as localities in the Mangalore city.

The council elections are held every five years once and the results are calculated when a person has got the most popular number of votes. One among the corporator who has got elected from the majority party is represented and selected as the Mayor of the city. Mangalore City Corporation has its headquarters located in Lalbagh. The sub-offices of it are located at Bikarnakatta and in Surathkal. The Mangalore municipality has a total covered area of about 73.71 km as per the records that were taken in the year 2001.

 Mangalore City Corporation
The Building of Mangalore City Corporation located at MG Road in Mangalore

Mangalore was constantly contributing two Lok Sabha members, yet, the revision that was made by the Delimitation commission made this impossible in the recent days. As the legislative constituencies were revised, Mangalore is now providing only one Lok Sabha member from their city. One member was elected from the southern part  of Mangalore city that comes under the Lok Sabha constituency in Mangalore. Another member was elected from the north part of Mangalore city that comes under Udupi Lok Sabha constituency. After the full revision of the legislative constituencies, the Mangalore taluk entirely comes under the constituency named as Dakshina Kannada Lok Sabha constituency. This had made Mangalore to contribute only one of their members as the Member of Parliament, which is also known as MP.

The law and order in Mangalore city are maintained by the Dakshinia Kannada Police. The Commissioner of Police heads the department and the headquarters of Western Range Police are located along the west parts of Karnataka. It is being headed by the Inspector General of Police, also known as IGP.

History of Mangalore City Corporation

The Mangalore City Corporation was formed in 1685 and it has got a historical significance behind the formation of it. The council was said to be started functioning with only 7 members were represented as the district officers. The Vice President was known as the administrative officer. The population of Mangalore city was calculated as 28,000 during the year 1866 and it had got nearly 6,619 houses in the city. The dispensary was said to be started during the year 1868 and it was located in the Lady Goschen Hospital. The series of legislation that came under the Madras Presidency made way for the development of a local administration in the city of Mangalore. It had made many welfare activities in the past. Mangalore turned into a city municipality in the year 1920. Many opportunities were created in order to raise the yearly income of the Mangalore city.

The Mangalore City Corporation was formed and started its existence from  the year 1980. It was expanded during the year 1996 and the Surathkal Town Municipality, Baikampady, Panamboor, Kulai and Hosabettu villages were added to the Mangalore City Corporation. During the year 2002, the Corporation was much more extended to Kannur, Bajal, Thiruvail Panchayath limits and Kudupu.

Contact Details:
Mangalore City Corporation
M.G.Road, Lalbaug, Mangalore - 575003
Telephone- 0824-2220310
Fax- 0824-2220309
email: [email protected], [email protected]

Free Listing